Mercy in Disguise

Lately I’ve been thinking a good deal about what it means to live a blessed life.  Where do I see God’s blessing, mercy, and goodness in the day-to-day? How have I personally defined this through my life?  How do those around me define blessings?  How does our culture define a blessed life?

A common definition would be: Highly favored or fortunate.  I believe that I commonly think of blessed as fortunate or situations that are favorable.  I’d rather not experience trials or hardships in this life.  Sickness, financial hardships, discomfort, suffering, indecision these are all difficult things.  I’d much rather pray for blessing, peace, comfort, healing, and prosperity.

But the older I become (Ugh 30 is just a few more weeks away) the more I realize that God’s sovereignty over the circumstances in my life have always led to the biggest blessings and growth.  One huge example – had I not struggled with infertility I would not have 4 beautiful children in our family right now!

So how have you struggled in life, and realized that it may be God’s blessing and mercy in disguise? This song from Laura Story is a great reminder of how much a sovereign God loves us, and is working out a good plan for our lives.  “He loves us way to much, to give us lesser things.”  The lyrics are below, but HERE is a link to listen to the song.

LAURA STORY – “BLESSINGS” LYRICS

We pray for blessings, 
We pray for peace,

Comfort for family, protection while we sleep,

We pray for healing, for prosperity,

We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering.

All the while, You hear each spoken need,

Yet love us way too much to give us lesser things.

 

‘Cause what if your blessings come through raindrops

What if Your healing comes through tears

What if a thousand sleepless nights 
are what it takes to know You’re near

What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

 

We pray for wisdom, 
Your voice to hear,

And we cry in anger when we cannot feel You near,

We doubt Your goodness, we doubt Your love,

As if every promise from Your Word is not enough
.

All the while, You hear each desperate plea
,

But long that we’d have the faith to believe.

 

‘Cause what if your blessings come through raindrops

What if Your healing comes through tears

What if a thousand sleepless nights 
are what it takes to know You’re near

And what if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

 

When friends betray us,

When darkness seems to win,

We know the pain reminds this heart

That this is not, this is not our home.

 

‘Cause what if your blessings come through raindrops

What if Your healing comes through tears

And what if a thousand sleepless nights 
are what it takes to know You’re near

What if my greatest disappointments

Or the aching of this life,

Is the revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy.

And what if trials of this life
,

The rain, the storms, the hardest nights,

Are your mercies in disguise.

 

This entry was posted in Devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mercy in Disguise

  1. Donna Brown says:

    Thank you so much for this song. It speaks to my heart as I am going through trials right now in my life and the life of my marriage.

  2. Tee says:

    Thanks for your post. I was looking for the lyrics to this song because I am dealing with secondary infertility. As you know…infertility sucks, but I heard this song on the radio and it really made me know that God is in control. Now, I’ve found your blog and have seen your beautiful family. I know the Lord will take the pain and use it for something good. I so want to have more children and I so want to trust Him everyday in every way with all these thoughts, pains, and tears. I’ll be visiting your blog agian.

  3. Hi! I stumbled across your blog looking for that song :-) great post! I also read your “About our Family” and I was even more excited to read about your love for Christ and see how much you adore your family. I hope you continue blogging because you are a very good writer and it’s great to read from someone who is such an authentic Christian. Your children are absolutely beautiful, too. :-)

  4. Sandra says:

    This song fills every part of my being. The depth of the lyrics, her voice, the music, all flood my heart and soul. My spirit feels magical; the pain of sorrow is embraced.

Leave a Reply

