The Number 1 Reason

Woah, 371 visits my first day, I should hold a give away or something. 😉

So, I bet you thought that maybe I didn’t have a number one reason and was secretly hoping that someone else would come up with a good one for me in the comments section.  Well that may or may not be true, but as I was brushing my teeth the other night and getting ready for bed I actually thought of a good #1 reason why you should keep coming back and reading this blog.  Although thank you that so many wanted to see cute pictures of the kiddos – I agree they’re pretty awesome.

So with no further do the NUMBER 1 reason is. . . .

#1 You can expect real, authentic, and raw (perhaps rough draft is a more honest way to put that) posts.

What does that mean, you ask? Well we live in a world striving for authenticity.  What’s real?  Are you being you or are you just a make-up or wanna-be of someone else?  Where, who, or what do we find our identity in?  Well I’ll admit right off that I’m not really as witty in person as I might appear on this blog.  I actually am tempted to worry and struggle to have faith in the day-to-day, I get lazy and half-hearted too.  I have days when I strive to find identity in what I have, what I do, my family, or what I know.   I think I dream of being eccentric while still holding back in a “I’m a grown-up now” kind of way.  However I feel it coming out.  I am the kinda girl that decorated with bright orange curtains, a rainbow bedspread, skittle lamp, and two plastic iguanas as a teenager (my mom forbid me having a real iguana, I’m thankful now. . . I think those things live forever).  But we need to remember that a personality trait, something we do, or life ambition can not be what defines us or be where we place our identity.

For me as a professing Christian then what does it look like to be real and authentic?  Well, it means that my identity is found as a child of God, adopted into His family.  In the Bible Ephesians 2:1 says, “Once you were dead, doomed forever because of your many sins.”  then verse 4&5 say, “But God is so rich in mercy, and he loved us so very much, that even while we were dead because of our sins, he gave us life when he raised Christ from the dead.” and finally verse 10, “For we are God’s masterpiece.  He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so that we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” (New Living Translation)

So with that in mind, hopefully you’ll find here that whatever I’m talking about I’m being an authentic Christian, a real follower of Christ, and a beautifully raw masterpiece of God.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Number 1 Reason

  1. Deanne says:

    To read about an authentic family was going to be my guess, but I’m a few days behind on my reading. But, I promise that I knew the answer!

    I will be following because I know that your family is following Christ’s leading. The Motts love the Taylors and can’t wait to see where God is taking you!

Leave a Reply

